New Admissions Committee members appointed


Date issued: 18 August 2017

The Legal Services Council has appointed three new members to the Admissions Committee. These new members replace those whose terms expired on 29 June 2017.

The new members are:

  • Chair – The Hon Acting Justice AR Emmett AO, an Acting Judge of Appeal of the NSW Supreme Court (Standing Committee nominee)
  • Professor Bronwyn Naylor, RMIT
  • Professor Lesley Hitchens, UTS

They replaced Professor Sandford Clark AM (Chair), Professor Carolyn Evans and Mr John Littrich.

The LSC Admissions Committee is responsible for developing Uniform Admission Rules. The Admission Rules set out the qualifications that a person who wants to practise law must obtain before being admitted to the legal profession by the relevant Supreme Court. The Committee also has a broader role providing advice to the Council about admission matters.

The LSC thanks the outgoing members for their valuable contribution.

Click here for the full Admissions Committee