Legal Services Council > About us > Law Admissions Consultative Committee (LACC)

​Law Admissions Consultative Committee (LACC)

The Law Admissions Consultative Committee's (LACC's) main role is to forge consensus on admission and admission-related matters nationally, between the bodies represented by its members. 

LACC comprises a Chair, the Hon Arthur Emmett AO QC, and 11 members who represent the law admitting authority of each of the eight Australian jurisdictions, the Australasian Professional Legal Education Council (APLEC), the Council of Australian Law Deans (CALD) and the Law Council of Australia (LCA). It is generally responsible to the Council of Chief Justices of Australia and New Zealand (CCJ), which appoints the Chair. LACC is not a committee of the CCJ or of the LSC. The LSC provides secretariat services to LACC. 

The current members of LACC and the states or entities they represent are:

  • Mr Peter Garrisson AM SC (ACT)
  • The Hon Justice François Kunc (NSW)
  • Associate Justice Vince Luppino (NT)
  • Mr Greg Moroney (QLD)
  • The Hon Justice Tony Besanko (SA)
  • The Hon Justice Robert Pearce (TAS)  
  • The Hon David Habersberger QC (VIC)
  • The Hon Rene Le Miere QC (WA)
  • Mr Lewis Patrick (APLEC)
  • Professor Tania Sourdin (CALD)
  • Ms Juliana Warner (LCA)

This site includes the following documents developed by LACC:

The LSC holds and can provide on request, LACC historical documents including discussion papers, proposals and submissions, and those regarding a limited 2015 review of the academic areas of knowledge required for admission. 

In September 2020, LACC resolved to defer the adoption of the Prescribed Areas of Knowledge, as the Council of Australian Law Deans is undertaking a review of the regulation of legal education and training in Australia. 

Neither the LSC's Admissions Committee nor LACC processes applications for admission to the legal profession. All enquiries about admission should be directed to the admitting authority of the relevant state or territory.