Law Admissions Consultative Committee (LACC)

The Law Admissions Consultative Committee's (LACC's) main role is to forge consensus on admission and admission-related matters nationally, between the bodies represented by its members. 

The LACC comprises a Chair, the Hon Arthur Emmett AO KC, and 11 members who represent the law admitting authority of each of the eight Australian jurisdictions, the Australasian Professional Legal Education Council (APLEC), the Council of Australian Law Deans (CALD) and the Law Council of Australia (LCA). It is generally responsible to the Council of Chief Justices of Australia and New Zealand (CCJ), which appoints the Chair. The LACC is not a committee of the CCJ or of the LSC. The LSC provides secretariat services to the LACC. 

The current members of the LACC and the states or entities they represent are:

  • Mr Peter Garrisson AM SC (ACT)
  • The Hon Justice François Kunc (NSW)
  • Associate Justice Vince Luppino (NT)
  • Mr Greg Moroney (QLD)
  • The Hon Justice Christopher Bleby (SA)
  • The Hon Justice Robert Pearce (TAS)  
  • The Hon David Habersberger KC (VIC)
  • The Hon Rene Le Miere KC (WA)
  • Associate Professor Vedna Jivan (APLEC)
  • Professor Tania Sourdin (CALD)
  • Ms Juliana Warner (LCA)

This site includes the following documents developed by the LACC:

The LSC holds and can provide on request, the LACC historical documents including discussion papers, proposals and submissions, and those regarding a limited 2015 review of the academic areas of knowledge required for admission. 

Neither the LSC's Admissions Committee nor the LACC processes applications for admission to the legal profession. All enquiries about admission should be directed to the admitting authority of the relevant state or territory.

Last updated:

05 Jul 2023

Was this content useful?
We will use your rating to help improve the site.
Please don't include personal or financial information here
Please don't include personal or financial information here

The Legal Services Council and Commissioner for Uniform Legal Services Regulation acknowledges the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as custodians of Australia and pay their respects to Elders, past and present. We also acknowledge their ongoing connection to land, sea and communities throughout Australia, and their contributions to the lives of all Australians.

Top Return to top of page Top